IMG_0660

The morning started out typically fabulous. I grabbed a 16 oz fresh squeezed OJ from my neighbor 3 doors down to sip for the 4 block walk to the Mercado. I decided to eat at Rosita’s for whatever reason, maybe because it was her turn in my Gaby’s-Marisol’s-Rosita’s rotation. I asked her what she had that morning and she rattled off the typical 4 or 5 menu items of fish soup, chicken soup, pork in green sauce, eggs, and beans. I ordered the eggs with beans and this morning it came with a red salsa and the usual big stack of fresh made tortillas. The masa is mixed by hand and the dough is rolled into ping-pong sized balls before being slapped into a hand press where they are then individually pressed and removed onto a steel plate that like every other plate or pot has a fierce gas fire roaring under it.

The finished dish vaguely resembles the Huevos Rancheros ordered stateside but Rosie crumbles a little fresh white farmer’s cheese over the beans. The flavors are sublime from the fresh chilies in the sauce to the fact that the eggs have never seen the inside of a refrigerator. All the freshness implies a flavor set that just can’t be duplicated with grocery store bought materials.

On the way back from the Mercado I stop and buy a small loaf of bread for 3.5 pesos (28 cents), I pay the old indigenous woman with the handsome long white braid 27 pesos for a kilo of her almost fresh cheese. She asked if I wanted the fresco but I deferred to one of her cheeses that had a couple of day’s age on it; wanting that extra microbial activity for my immune system. My last stop is to buy two kilos of local avocados for 20 pesos; the old man has a jewelry store on the plaza that also serves as storehouse/sales room when his avocado trees are dropping fruit. On those days he has crates stacked upon crates of avocados. Two kilos is something like a 12-14 large avocados, for something like 15 cents a piece. I remember back to our early years in Texas and how the HEB grocery would periodically sell avocados 10 for a dollar. So it gave me a great deal of satisfaction to get local ones for prices from the old days instead of paying the $2.50 or $3.00 which was typical in Washington, DC.

