Image

I hired a cab last weekend to take me to San Pedro. I had to do this because I couldn’t seem to find the connecting canal trail points on my runs. All my runs through the vast agricultural valley east of town were to some extent discovery in nature. I was always looking for that route that would give me that perfect 4 hour run. And I decided to start at the point furthest across the valley and scout my way backwards to find out how all those dirt roads and agricultural trails mapped together.

It wasn’t until after two hours of criss-crossing the north-east edge of the valley that I finally found the locus; Los Negritos.

 Image

And it didn’t involve San Pedro at all, like I thought it would. Instead it is a small lake that supposedly has a small hot springs and therapeutic black mud; hence the name, Los Negritos. I didn’t get out to explore it like I probably should have; I was just so relieved to have found the place where the east bound trail I had been running terminated.

Image

And wonder of wonders – the cab’s odometer showed that it was 20 km from there back to town – meaning I finally had my 4 hour running route.

 

 

