Injuries are not to be taken lightly especially for older runners like myself. The older you are the longer it takes for injuries to heal.

So if you’ve been following this blog at all you’ll know that I am a 57 year old runner who through a combination of overtraining and bad running sandals (prototype #11) severely strained my right Achilles tendon. Please read Healthy Feet Parts 2 and 3 for the background story.

Yesterday I went out and did a second successful comeback run in the last pair (prototype #12) of my running sandals. I ran for an hour and a quarter and was extremely mindful of my form.

ü      Torso leaning forward slightly?

ü      Cadence within spec?

ü      Knees slightly bent?

ü      Soft rapid footstrikes?

ü      Arms held relatively high?

ü      Footstrikes on the forefoot?

ü      Footstrikes landing under the torso?

Every little thing ‘checked’. The run showed me that my form needed no correcting which was a complete relief and the problem was as I originally diagnosed in Healthy Feet Part 2; namely the footware.

The next step for me is to start slowly ratcheting up the miles. I will do this while continually monitoring the pitty-pat sounds of my feet. I’ve learned as a minimalist runner that everything starts with your feet; if they’re happy, everything else is happy.

My personal goal since December has been to get my training to the place where I can comfortably run 4-5 hours a day and do it injury free. After I reach that goal then I’ll revisit where to go from there. But for now the plan is to be able to run for that length of time by June 1st.

I highly recommend ‘Eat and Run’ by Scott Jurek. I am presently enjoying the read at the moment gleaning from it his training advice and his counter-intuitive approach to nutrition which he attributes to his success as one of the greatest ultramarathoners of all time.

I also recommend http://fellrnr.com/wiki/Main_Page for a go to place for running advice and solutions to specific problems that you might be having. 

