My mother has been asking for more photos: photos of my house, the neighborhood, the market, the town, etc.

So here are a four pics of the house. The first pic is the very unappealing streetside view exhibiting what they say back in the states has ‘zero curb appeal’. Yes, my house with each story measuring 15’W X 75’L is like 3 single wide house trailers stacked one on top of the other. Yes, the exterior is totally devoid of charm, character or beauty but…

Image

The front of my house (notice all the iron?)

I didn’t care about the curb appeal, I rented the house because half of the third floor is a terrace with a 270 degree view of the city. It is from there that I take all of my sunrise/sunset/approaching storm photos.

IMG_0315

The third floor terrace (looking north towards Lake Chapala)

Image

Looking south from the terrace through the third floor workroom

The other half of the third floor is my work room. The windows and doors are open from the time I get up in the morning until the time I go to bed.

Image

Third floor workroom with a southern view (notice all of the iron?)

The charmless second floor supports the third floor (but also has 3 bedrooms).

The charmless first floor [also] supports the third floor but has the kitchen, another bathroom, an attached laundry room and a garage of sorts.

PS – curb appeal in Latin America (just like Asia) is attractive to criminals. Too nice of a house telegraphs that you are wealthy. And here, wealthy can get you kidnapped.

