It’s pouring rain at the moment which is a bit disconcerting because central Mexico is in dry season. This was the sunrise from yesterday:

Image

Manolo’s big beautiful house, in his big safe gated community was broken into Saturday night while he and his 16 year old son slept. The thief made himself at home cooking up a couple of tuna steaks which he washed down with a couple of premium tequila’s and coke before making off with Manolo’s laptop and a few other things. Unbeknownst to the thief his criminal activity was captured on security cameras so he is probably chilling his 20 year old self in jail today. I’m spending Christmas Eve with Manolo and his family so I’ll get an update this evening.

My friend Pancho is headed up to Guadalajara today to spend Christmas with his family. He might as well as the holiday cantina business (like all other local businesses) are upside down due mostly in part to the continued violence and peoples’ unwillingness to travel.

I spent Sunday afternoon with my buddy Gilberto. He is getting divorced for the forth or fifth time. She’s an absolute beauty of 35 and he is a 63 year old successful businessman who just can’t ever seem to want to box in his own weight class.

I have to report to Immigrations after the holidays. Instead of getting my usual 180 day tourist visa at the airport I got shunted to the principal’s office for possible reprimand/expulsion/who knows?

Either the immigration system (they have networked computers these days) flagged me as a punter – as in why should a tourist be given his 4th consecutive 180 visa? – or the immigration officer at the airport was merely being a dick because he lied to me and said that he was giving me 180 days. I didn’t have my glasses on so I didn’t catch it and see the checked box telling me to report to the Immigration office until the next morning.

I might not be much to look at anymore but I am a creative old bastard; you got to give me that. So anticipating the worst, I am already in the process of executing Plan B. So I’ve ordered up another 60 pair of sandals; mostly the beautiful basketweave clogs, got business cards printed along with a t-shirt or two and so in the middle of January I am off to Miami for a month to work on the sales end of my business.

Miami is the ideal city for me. So if Immigration tells me that I need to leave the country and re-enter with another class of visa, fine – there is a consulate in south downtown Miami. Hopefully the weather will be good and I needn’t add to my wardrobe of shorts, sandals, and t-shirts. I can continue to work on my Spanish, rent a short-term apartment (Craigslist) in the old part of downtown and hawk my sandals on the beach if need be.

Worried? Not in the least. We at sahara sandals® make the best sandals in the world. You just have to try a pair on and you’ll see what I am talking about.

