This post is intended for those twenty/thirty-something year old hiring managers with business degrees who hire technology talent but haven’t the faintest idea of what they are really looking for. And let me just say that nontechnology managers that manage a staff of technologists is criminal. And if I was running this world it would be punishable in the most medieval way possible.

And let me also just say to each and every one you, kiss my ass. I dislike you all equally and will never (ever) work for one of you again.

But to lift the veil of your ignorance (if only for a second) I am going to tell you something you don’t know. And that is there is a huge unbridgeable chasm that separates those who have been through university and emerged with an engineering degree and those who haven’t.

The technician who now contends in the IT arena supposedly head to head with the engineer and who might just have a business degree, a degree in English, or sociology and just maybe might possess several certificates from the likes of Novell, Cisco Systems, or Microsoft is anything but the technological equal of a trained engineer. The testing and training associated with those certificates gave the possessor some depth of knowledge into a specific and narrow band of a given technology but gave them absolutely nothing in the way of breadth.

And the reason why you don’t know this is because you are just another asshole business major who didn’t have the balls or the brains to study something a little bit more challenging.

Managers as a general rule remind me of that saying ‘When your only tool is a hammer then every problem begins to resemble a nail’. And if that isn’t clear enough then let me say that it has been my observation that management’s solution to most any given problem is to either add another layer of management or to re-org. As in, forget trying to get to the root of the problem; just throw another manager at it.

Let me take my vitriolic diatribe up a notch and bring in the razor sharp observation of Octavio Paz, the Nobel prize winning intellectual when he said, ‘The modern worker lacks individuality…He is a laborer, which is an abstract noun designating a mere function rather than a specific job. Therefore his efforts, unlike those of a doctor, an engineer, or a carpenter, cannot be distinguished from those of other men’. If you find that cruel and elitist, take it up with the dead man, not me.

PS – if you’ve wondered why I often quote Octavio Paz it is because living in Mexico I am book deprived and own essentially just 3 books. Barron’s 501 Spanish Verbs, the Holy Bible and The Labyrinth of Solitude. And I give two of the three a pretty good work out. I need to open the first one more often as my Spanish still languishes due to my mostly osmotic approach.

