Christmas finished two days ago and the Fiesta for San Felipe (Happy birthday to me) just passed and now we are celebrating the town’s patron saint, Josito. A young boy who at the age of 13 or 14 stood by the church in 1927 (or thereabouts), resisted the government, and was tortured to the point of having his feet flayed before being martyred.

Here are a few photographs taken in front of my house, #242 Calle Victoria in El Centro, of the procession of caberellos who started riding at midnight last night from the abduction point of Jose – 50 km away – and proceeded up my street to the Sanctuario at about 3:30 pm.

Image

The re-enactment of the [painted] bloody footprints are related to the flaying.

But first Calle Victoria (beginning with my block) was painted white this afternoon.

Image

300 horsemen made the procession beginning last night at midnight. I took these photos sitting across the street (in the shade) from my house (see the 242?).

Image

Horsemen – bloody footprints –

Image

Prancing horse –

Image

Tough horsemen (fortified with cerveza Modelo) –

Image

Cheerleaders of the diminutive variety –

Image

