I got a New York Times notable ‘Pick’ (my 3rd, yay!) to a comment that I made to an opinion article published this morning entitled ‘How Book Publishers Can Beat Amazon’.

I had no idea until I read this piece just what complete assholes Amazon.com has become. They have been caught in the act of punishing publishers which in turn affects the entire writing ecosystem. Bastards.

My comment was as follows:

“I used to love Amazon when I lived in the USA. I loved the customer reviews, the low prices, the free 2 day shipping option, and the multiple selections. But I never bought any of their downloadable media; preferring to order CDs, DVDs, and real books.

Downloadable media carries all of that scary DRM baggage. Meaning, you don’t really own what you downloaded, you only purchased the limited right to use it.

I think I have to agree with Mr. Kohn that it might be time to pull the plug on Amazon; totally pull the plug.

We as consumers have sacrificed too many freedoms (including our health in some cases) all for lower prices and convenience.

I now believe in buying local and support such things as the nascent slow-wear clothing movement which has three principle tenants: a rejection of mass-produced, the preference for long-wearing artisanal materials, and slowing the rate of consumption by purchasing better quality clothing less often.

And I am still aware that perhaps the only personal vote that matters any more is how we spend our money because what we buy is what we support; however tacit.”

PS – We are what we buy. We are what we put in our head. We are what we eat. And we are what we do when we think no one else is looking. Ouch.

 

