I left Mexico on the 23rd and overnited it with my old buddy Novak in Dallas. We went out and ate big old Texas style steaks, drank 18 yo scotch, and had a pretty good evening of playing catch up since our last visit.

He dropped me off at the airport the next morning in time to catch my 10 am flight to Chicago. My 6 hour layover was spent mostly in a fog due in no small part to being mildly hungover, then sleep deprived with the travel, airports, and security;  all magnified by  the malingering food poisoning from 3 days earlier. The combined effects of which were seriously beginning to harsh my mellow.

In spite of my infirmiries I still managed to get my cardboard construct self to the G terminal for the final leg to Marquette. Thankfully it was a short 55 minute flight. My old friend, Garwood and his wife picked me up and by 9:15 pm we were back at their new place on W. Harrison Street. I didn’t discover until the next morning that their house was directly behind where I used to live on W. Hewitt.

Yesterday afternoon we stopped at Thill’s Fish House to pick up dinner. Thill’s operates out of an old quanset hut on the bayfront where they have been fishmongers for as long as I can remember. In fact it was old man Thill who was our landlord when we lived at 434 W. Hewitt back in ’78-’79. The fish house is a Marquette institution that goes back [I was to find later] to the early ’50s . And the Thill family, at least back then, did a lot of their own fishing operating a boat out on Lake Superior. Anyway, after a thorough perusal of the well stocked fish case we bought 2 nice big lake trout fillets, a salmon fillet, and a container of – get this – whitefish livers.

Garwood’s cousin, Mary and her husband came by over for dinner. Garwood’s wife grilled the lake trout and I sauteed the livers as an appetizer which we served with an olive, lemon mayonaise sauce. None of us had ever eaten fish livers and we were all pleasantly surprised how mild and tasty they were.

I cut the salmon filet in two and did a rub of salt, sugar, and coarse ground black pepper. I added some chopped fresh dill between the two halved fillets before putting them in a dish covered with plastic wrap.

The last step was to weight them down them down with a big can of peaches before tucking them into the fridge to rest for the next 12 hours. They were rather thin so I figured after a turning and another 12 hours they would emerge as that tasty little dish called gravlax.

