Day 3 on the bike. 43 miles. 3 .5 hours. The bike is gradually becoming more comfortable so day after tomorrow I’ll be ready to step up the mileage. That’s incremental; as in baby steps. I don’t ever foresee cranking out centuries (100 milers) in the near future but it would be nice to be able to extend my supply line without collapsing into a exhausted shivering heap.

I would step up the mileage tomorrow but there is that big old Mackinaw Bridge to get across first and they don’t allow bicycles on that thing. Maybe this hasn’t come up before – and just so you know – this isn’t a planned tour.

Some of us at times like to feel our way across a landscape as planning can tend to kill the playfulness of travel. No? Scary? Okay, but you have to admit at the very least that there is something magically absurdly idiodic to parachuting into some unknown place (not literally love) and to then bushwack ones way across turgid terrain. That’s the mirrorverse of the Upper Penninsula BTW but cheers to Stanley Kubrick anyway.

My mind is wandering. The comforting presence of TV is annoying absent. The Tahquamenon Hotel is dead. The town has only it and a bar across the street. I look out my window and part of me expects sagebrush to come blowing down the street. I am drinking cheap Canadian whisky and again, wihout the social tethering effects of TV, I find my mind wandering.

Maybe it was rolling through the infamous Seney Stretch a few miles back in a subverse of infinity that did it. This relentless never ending wilderness has perhaps triggered this numbing disassociative paralysis. This eye-gouging landscape of gray skies and green – woods, trees, bushes, plants – never converges, only continues.

I awoke this morning knowing that I had to flee the UP. And I awoke knowing that Canada – via Sault Ste. Marie – was not the correct path. So in the morning my bike will be pointed south and I will cross the Mighty Mac and venture through the lands of my forefather’s folly.

If you want my advice? Stay home. Or better yet, stay indoors. And be sure to watch lots (and lots) of TV.

 

