But first, this morning’s sunrise –

 

IMG_2619

Absolutely Glorious! You might not believe in God, but you’re not here. And while the devil himself might manage to steal a few headlines down here in big bad scary old Michoacan; it’s only the Master Creator himself who can fly a sunrise like this one.

Whatever your belief system, this sunrise was a top-tenner. Click on it for the expanded view.

And being Domingo, we celebrated another Super Menudo Sunday. That righteous steaming hot extra spicy red chili broth garnished with a sprinkle of oregano, loaded with big chunks of foot and stomach bits. With just 2 tablespoons of chopped white onion and the juice of an entire lime. Oh, yeah and fresh tortillas. Food heaven.

To business. I had a sales and marketing epiphany a couple of days ago. My new women’s moccasin got me thinking about fashion. And the epiphany was all about finding a way to connect up with people who work in the fashion industry. And then I read this great article about Twitter and how to use Twitter to connect to people that had similar interests. So I opened a Twitter account and linked it to this blog.

Now why you ask, didn’t I do this before?  Well, I guess because the sandals – while I might love them – didn’t really feel like fashion. But these new moccasins most certainly do.

And this morning I read two very inspiring articles on the Guardian (one of my two favorite British papers). The first one written by Kelis, entitled My music, my style: six singers on fashion and performance and she said one thing that really resonated with me – “The important thing is that whatever you wear, you’ve got to own it. It’s got to represent something.” And I thought, yeah. It is that kind of thinking that separates – figuratively speaking – the fashion grownups from the fashion kids.

The other article was written by Lauren Laverne and it was her subtitle that caught my eye “The dress code in hell is business casual and I intend to be wearing the wrong shoes.” Her very entertaining and well written article was more or less a lament about growing up and having to dress age appropriate.  I tweeted her and included a photo of my new moccasin and suggested she needed to get into a pair of those.

These two articles dovetailed nicely posing the greater questions of just what is responsible (my word) fashion and how do we treat fashion and dress as we mature?

I personally subscribe to a very simple fashion aesthetic: shorts, a pocket t-shirt (white or navy) and sandals. When the weather is cool I add a navy blue cashmere cardigan. That’s it. I have been dressing this way more or less my entire life.

I have to add what Gomez Adams had to say about his personal fashion aesthetic. He said something to the effect that while a man might own a dozen suits, he guaranteed that out of that dozen the man had a favorite suit of clothes. So for Gomez, he had a dozen copies of his favorite suit. And echoing what Kelis said, “The important thing is that whatever you wear, you’ve got to own it. It’s got to represent something.”

And as we mature I believe we should especially be mindful of what Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “In character, in manner, in style, in all things, the supreme excellence is simplicity.”

 

