I’ve said it before, if you want to see the real Mexico, then flee the resorts and get off the beach. In 2001 Mexico instituted a program called the Magical Villages Program (Programa Pueblos Mágicos). Wikipedia says that there are now 83 towns and villages in all 31 states have been awarded the title Pueblo Mágico.

The closest magical village to where I live is the town of Jiquilpan which lies just 7 km. away. It is a beautiful little town with exquisite architecture. An example of which is the old public library that contains 10 murals painted by the Master Jose Clemente Orozco (1883 – 1949), one of Mexico’s most famous artists (ever) of the cutting edge school of early twentieth century social realism.

IMG_1703

A public library in a tiny village in an obscure part of Mexico that contains not one but ten original murals painted by a genius. Incredible. Think about it.

Yesterday I took an hour bus ride further up into the mountains of Jalisco to another pueblo mágico called Mazamitla. I’ve mentioned in other posts about the weather here in central Mexico being so sublimely spectacular that the people live mostly outdoors.

IMG_2651

I took a few more photos but for the most part they failed to capture the true qualities of beautiful little Mazamitla.

IMG_2657

This central region of Mexico is filled with many other beautiful little villages that didn’t make the official list. The next puebla I intend to visit is the Valle de Juárez. It sits several kilometers off the main road so I’ve only seen it from a distance. The village is nestled between two small lakes and rises partially up the slope of a fairly steep mountain range. I’ve now ridden by it 4 times and each time I ask myself, ‘Who lives there? What do they do there?’

With the mountain range behind it there appears to be only the one road in leading off of the main highway to Colima. It looks like the stuff of fairytales sitting so far off all by itself with just the lakes and mountains surrounding it. It is a mystery that I need to look into.

