This past week I have been playing lots of basketball with my neighbors and consequently must be running some sort of serious carb deficit as I have an irrepressible appetite for things like all sorts of different kinds of pasta dishes and anything cooked with lots of potatoes.

Yesterday I bought half a kilo of longaniza sausage off my friend, Ramon. At 100 pesos per kilo it is the most expensive in town (by twice) but it is by far the best. Longaniza is nothing like its greasier cousin, chorizo. Where chorizos are short, fat and ooze a viscous red grease when cooked, longaniza comes in skinny long ropes which are typically found draped over suspended iron bars in select vendor stalls where they hang in the open air until they are sold. Thankfully, flies for some inexplicable reason do not find them attractive. The sausage cooks up with next to no grease and consequently very little shrinkage.

So here are the ingredients for yesterday’s evening meal; which btw is enough to last me 4 days or feed 4-6 people.

  • 1/2 kilo of longaniza sausage
  • 1 large package of linguini
  • 5 medium tomatoes
  • 2 medium onions
  • 5 fresh serrano chilies
  • 1 cup of fresh chicken stock (Optional, mine was leftover from another time. You could easily substitute white wine)
  • 1/4 kilo of fresh cheese

I diced the veggies and put them in a skillet with vegetable oil to cook through. Then added 1/2 of the chicken stock to keep the veggies from sticking. I took the sausage out of its casing before adding it into the skillet in thumb size knobs. Brought the works up to temp before adding the rest of the chicken broth. Covered the skillet, turned down the heat to simmer while I took a shower.

I cooked the pasta in a separate pot, drained it when it was finished and then folded the sausage and sauce over the pasta, crumbled the cheese before adding, and then let the cheese melt and the flavors intermingle.

Pretty delicious.

PS – Today I bought 1/2 kilo of fresh ‘hongos’ from my neighbor who sells her homegrown oyster mushrooms for 75 pesos/kilo. So tonight’s menu is going to be sauteed oyster mushrooms in olive oil/butter; mushrooms respond well to this oil/butter mix (but I think I’d add a little bacon grease if I had it). Then I’ll remove the mushrooms when done and reuse the pan to heat up some of that leftover longaniza pasta. Then garnish my plate of pasta with some of those lovely fried mushrooms.

PPS – This isn’t my first choice for cooking oyster mushrooms but their availability was immediate. And then I hate to let them sit around especially as they are so pristine; they are unblemished and their gills are sharp and undamaged.

So use them I shall.

 

