Sometimes I find a design so incredibly bad that the resultant outrage renders me into a stuttering speechless clench-fisted heart palpitating manic.

Take my back door. Apart from the unbreakable window pane covered by welded bars, it is solid steel. But as I discovered yesterday when I was trying to replace the strike plate; the entire door assembly had not one but two fatal flaws.

A chain, it is said, is only as strong as its weakest link. And in the case of my 150 pound solid steel door it was the two screws (not the required four) that tenuously (at best) held the strike plate to the wall.

And the door opens inwards. Think about that for a minute. So anybody like me who has ever taken close look at one of these doors would very quickly come to the conclusion that it would only take two hard smacks with a sledge hammer (at the lock) to knock the door in and open.

This wouldn’t be the case if the door opened out because then someone would have to pry the door open from the outside which would be a much more difficult operation even with a potentially weak strike plate.

My home security all this time has been a complete illusion. (And by my reckoning, someone deserves a serious beating).

So I fixed it. I replaced the lock and the strike plate and for extra security put an additional hasp, staple, and padlock on the door in another place. I wore out two and broke yet a third steel drill bit. And it took 4 hours and just as many trips to the hardware store. But the piece of mind was worth it.

Oh, and I pointed the oversized padlock up instead of letting it hang – as they more traditionally do – down. I wanted the big old padlock to be seen by whoever it is that might think to want to break through that door.

After all, security to a certain extent is still an illusion.

