Whew. Tired. But as of this morning the move was finally concluded when I got rid of the last two remaining things in my old house. The stove and the 50 kg tank of gas. I got about 30 cents on the dollar but haggling to make a few more pesos didn’t make whole lot of sense because vacating the premises was a much higher priority.

And I certainly wasn’t going to lug either heavy item to my new place just to store them and again; just to haggle for a few more pesos. And I am relieved to get rid of the damned things. Two less major appliances to own. Two less things to worry about.

I hired a couple of women last Saturday to clean the old place from top to bottom. Of course, circumstances being what they were, the actual cleaning didn’t get finished until Sunday night. I confess that it made me a little cranky initially but now I’ve got to say that I am okay with that too. Now I just need to hand over the keys and get my deposit back. Then it’s truly a done deal.

Today life got back to normal. I went for my first run in almost 10 days and it felt great. The whole move process contrived to bend my schedule around everyone else. For instance the roof sprung a major leak at the new place so I had to babysit the construction crew for three days while they put a new roof on. Not so much a roof as it’s actually a large tiled open air patio that’s on the top of the fourth floor.

Stairs leading from the 3rd to the 4th floor.

Stairs leading from the 3rd to the 4th floor.

Stairs leading from the 4th floor to the roof top terrace.

Stairs leading from the 4th floor to the roof top terrace.

A partial view of the roof top terrace.

A partial view of the roof top terrace.

And I’ve got the second floor too. I’ll post more photos of the new place as I get things put away; that initial stage of getting the place ‘tuned’ as my friend, Mike said.

PS – The neighborhood is nice too.

Looking down, across the street.

Looking down, across the street.

The southern view from my roof.

The southern view from my roof.

